The Theatre wing of the former home of Dr John Langdon Down, formerly known as Normansfield, is now owned and managed by the Down’s Syndrome Association (Registered Charity No 1061474, Company Registered No 3310024). The building was refurbished and handed over to the as part of a Section 106 planning agreement by Developers Laing Homes in October 2003.
The remit of the Langdon Down Centre and the Down’s Syndrome Association is to promote, preserve and manage this beautiful grade 11* listed building, and the historical archive material of Dr. Langdon Down.
Dr John Langdon Down was a Victorian physician who established Normansfield in 1868 as a family home and a place where people with learning disabilities could be cared for and educated at a time when most of them would have been condemned to life in an asylum.
This remarkable man built a beautiful Theatre and encouraged his patients/students to learn music and drama as part of their education. He provided work experience in woodwork and farming in a way that was probably more advanced than some of the provision available today. Most of his students had the condition that now bears his name and he is known internationally as the ‘Father of Down’s syndrome’.
The Langdon Down Museum of Learning Disability opened to the public early in 2012. Further details will be available on this website.
For any further information on the Langdon Down Centre, please contact Jo Hardie, Langdon Down Centre Manager, on 0333 1212 300. Email: firstname.lastname@example.org.